merelop.blogg.se

Thunderbird and gmail
Thunderbird and gmail




thunderbird and gmail thunderbird and gmail

From what I've read (links below), this will continue to work for POP after May 30. If you use IMAP, some of this will probably be helpful but I've not tested it. After figuring all this out, actually doing these steps took me two minutes or less for each of my Gmail accounts. In the hope it may be helpful for others, here are the quick and easy steps I used to stay with POP in Tbird on Ubuntu Linux (same settings for Tbird in any OS, though the menu locations may be different). I didn't need to change any setting other than OAuth2, in the two server settings (incoming and outgoing mail) for each of my various Gmail accounts. I've never used 2FA for Gmail but if you do, it's apparently a setting you can toggle off/on via a Gmail web login or presumably in their app (I've never used that). Despite reports to the contrary, it's working fine with no annoying 2FA (two-factor authentication, where you have to get a code via text every time you check or send email). Now I'm able to login automatically in Tbird Ubuntu and keep using POP for local storage. Now it seems clear the only requirements are the latest Tbird version, and OAuth2 login rather than password. At first I thought Google will now demand IMAP, so I wasted time trying to find out how to set that up so new email could still be stored on my computer. I have email going back to the 1990s stored in mailboxes on my computer and want to keep using Gmail that way. They grumbled about " insecure access" but I couldn't find any clear guidance on exactly what they will require (especially for POP/SMTP), what my options are, or exactly how to proceed.

thunderbird and gmail

Lately I've been getting dire warnings from Google that my POP SMTP Gmail accounts won't work on Thunderbird ( aka Tbird) after the end of May 2022.






Thunderbird and gmail